Dinner: Tandoori Roast Chicken

An attempt at making a tandoori-style whole roast chicken in the convection oven. I always cut the skin off the whole chicken before roasting now so it was imperative to put a good amount of rub on to get a kind of crust.

The rub was a gloppy mix of two kinds or dried red chile, coriander, cumin, turmeric, smoked paprika, fresh garlic, garlic powder, crushed fennel seed, cumin seeds, lime juice, a bit of saffron infused olive oil. I put garlic cloves, cut limes, and the tops of fennel bulbs and the fennel sprigs inside the bird.

Served this with a roasted red cabbage and fresh fennel dish from Janeva’s cookbook.  I added lime juice, fresh garlic, fresh cilantro, and salt. I sautéed the zucchini in a saffron-infused olive oil with just fresh garlic and smoked paprika.

It was pretty good. Tomorrow I’ll boil the bones and make a broth!

tandoori chicken

One thought on “Dinner: Tandoori Roast Chicken

Leave a comment