Dinner: Shrimp Fra Diavolo

I had some precooked, deveined, shelled shrimp and didn’t want to cook another damn stir fry.  We’ve been liking stuff really spicy lately so Shrimp Fra Diavolo came to mind.  I looked around online for a non-diet recipe and adapted it to fit.  This time I followed Giada De Laurentiis’ recipe.

I also used shiratake noodles.  They’re protocol (pretty much a 0-0-0) but I rarely use them.  Usually because they don’t really add much to the meal.  But in this case I thought it would be a fun addition.  I’d bought the variety pack on amazon so I used the fettuccine.  This stuff smells, and I mean BAD, right out of the package so you really have to rinse it to get that off.  Then boil it.  Then let it dry.  Now you can see why I rarely make them.  The recommended way I’ve read to cook the noodles is to dry roast them.

  • Toast shiitake noodles in pan. Add 1 tsp garlic olive oil
  • Add and Sauté shrimp with the noodles and chopped garlic, crushed red pepper, salt, fresh chopped green onion, cilantro, and parsley, turn off and set aside.
  • In another pan Saute 1 c mushrooms in 1 tsp garlic olive oil with green onion, fresh chopped garlic.
  • Deglaze with some mushroom broth (this brand is protocol)
  • Add 1/2 – 3/4 c rotel with juice *.  Add crushed red pepper, parsley, cilantro, basil, hot sauce.
  • Stir, turn on low for a few minutes.
  • Leave noodles in pan and add shrimp to the tomato sauce. Cover and simmer for a few minutes.
  • Spoon into bowl and put noodles on top

*Rotel original does not have added sugar.  Always check the ingredients for added sugars.  Tomatoes have natural sugar so there will be some in the nutrition info panel.  As long as there are no extra sugars in the ingredients it’s protocol.

shrimp fra diavolo

Leave a comment