Turkey Roulade

I thawed out some turkey cutlets.  They’re fairly thin so I thought I’d try another roulade.

The important part about doing a roulade, no matter what meat you’re using, is to really pound it flat.  I place the meat between sheets of saran wrap and put a kitchen cloth on top.  Then pound firmly with a rubber mallet.  You can use a meat tenderizer or something but I don’t have one.  The rubber mallet works great for pounding out meat and putting together Ikea furniture haha.  Just be sure to wipe it down.

Be sure to pound the meat evenly.  You might have to shift it around in the plastic wrap as it spreads out.

I wanted to have that bacon flavor so I did that trick with portobello mushrooms I did the other day.  In retrospect it wasn’t really worth the time.  The mushrooms reconstituted and just tasted mushroomy again.  Not a bad flavor just not worth it.

Preheat the oven to 425.  Spray a cast iron or regular roasting pan with grapeseed or olive oil and place it in the oven to preheat.

Making the filling is super easy.  I don’t even precook the veggies – they’ll cook with the turkey.  Just mix together a cup of mushrooms and spinach with fresh herbs.  In this case I used cilantro and parsley.  I’d already used the daily olive oil when I made the mushrooms but doing it again I’d just add some bacon infused olive oil to this mix and toss it.

Lay the meat out with the grain running horizontally to you.  Start adding the filling, roll it, tuck it, add more filling.  Just keep rolling it.  Don’t worry about any meat tearing just seal it or close it with a toothpick.

Use toothpicks or kitchen twine to really tie it together.  Use as much as you need to be sure it’s really going to stay together.  I personally think it stays together better and is easier to slice when using twine.

Set the rolled meat in the pan with the seam side down.  Let it cook for about 20 minutes, turning the roll with tongs every once in a while to brown evenly.

It is done when the middle measures 165 degrees fahrenheit.

Take it out and let it rest under aluminum foil for about five-ten minutes.

Slice the roll into pinwheels, cutting the twine or removing the toothpicks as you go.  BE SURE YOU GET ALL THE TOOTHPICKS!

This one turned out really pretty 🙂

FullSizeRender (1)

 

 

One thought on “Turkey Roulade

Leave a comment