Brinner: Egg Muffins

As usual I wanted to cook eggs for dinner the night before our weigh in.  There’s no real logic to this but we’re just going to roll with it.

I’d seen a sort of version of this in Janeva’s book using cauliflower and an ip omelet packet but I wanted to use real eggs.

I roasted 1 cup of broccoli in the cast iron pan with 1 tsp butter flavored olive oil at 450 for about 15 minutes.  Tossed in two whole garlic cloves so I could add a little roasted garlic to the muffins.  In the meantime I sautéed 1/2 cup of mushrooms and 1/2 cup yellow peppers, some roasted nm green chile, fresh parsley, fresh cilantro, salt, and some garlic powder.

I used extra large parchment liners in the muffin pan and separated the vegetables into the muffin cups.  I managed to fit them all in six cups.

Then beat 4 eggs, 2 egg whites (to equal 8 ounces of protein) with 1 tsp butter flavored olive oil, chopped up one of the roasted garlic cloves, 1/4 tsp baking powder, 1/4 cup water.

Poured them evenly over the vegetables and baked at 400 for 25 min.

They were pretty good and really filling!

egg muffinsegg muffins 2

Leave a comment